Tamara Kvesitadze

Tamara Kvesitadze from the Republic of Georgia…

Below are quick videos of kinetic sculptures by Kvesitadze which demonstrate elegant and powerful impressions of the psyche and body. I am absolutely entranced by this work. It feels like there is some deep understanding that the form is imparting to the viewer. Something that one cannot access through words or logic. I also like how the sculptures become so powerful in and of themselves that they take on their own life- as if they had always existed apart from the hand of the artist- immortal, maybe similar to a myth.

See her website for more: http://www.tamarastudio.com/

(see the first 20 seconds or so…)

Helping me make sense of some of my interests…

I have been conducting some simple explorations with projections. The first round of explorations helped me understand a little more about the affordances of multiple projections such as layering, distorting, reflecting, etc. I was also struck by how easy it was to find deep meaning in the manipulation of projections when I was projecting a representation of a person and another person, or a person and an object. The content of the projection, the manipulation of the projection, and the projection environment all influenced this meaning. In my second series of explorations with the projector I tried projecting on various transparent surfaces and forms. I found that projecting onto different forms along with different types of movement began to create a very deep narrative on top of that which already seemed so symbolic. I experimented a little with texture but did not do much. This second study is not online yet. Soon.

I see connections from these projections to this work in two ways. One is that combining a form and a representation of a person opens up a very powerful narrative, even when that combination is not intentional or curated- as is in my projection studies. I am also finding that movement is a indescribably powerful element of visual storytelling because 1. it creates a narrative which evolves in front of the viewer and 2. it hints at a sort of mood/behavior/deep psychological gesture.

About alexandria
Alexandria I. Jarvis Master of Graphic Design '12 North Carolina State University

Leave a Reply

